close

Thread: How to pass the road test for Texas Drivers license

Default How to pass the road test for Texas Drivers license

I have already passed the written test. Need a lot of tips for the road test. I am really very scared. I am a novice so no tip is too dumb.

So please help!!

Has anyone passed the test recently?

Can you give me a step by step account of what the examiner asks you to do? I could not find this info anywhere. If you passed the test and you remember a detailed account, please post it here.

Any tips on do's and dont's would be really helpful too.

Thanks in advance!

Have you ever drived the car before. If yes then it should not be a problem. Just practice Parking (not sure about parallel parking),3 point turn, Stop sign.
    Lane change and emergency stop. Some place they make you park down hill and up hill.

Default Yes, but....

....I have driven a little bit but I am more worried about the nuances like when to look at the mirror etc. Have heard that people fail a lot.

If you are a good driver, you do all this automatically. I am not too good. So I need the exact instructions.

The first and foremost thing is SAFETY.
    Try to be safe and you will PASS the test easily. Do all that you need to do to drive safely on the road.

They look for
    (i) How you turn (left turn, right turn, sometime U-turn)
    (ii) Parallel Parking
    (iii) Lane change
    (iv) Whether you use the Indicators correctly or not
    (v) Are you following all the signs on the road (stop, speed limit etc).
    (vi) whether you use both hands on the steering or not.

Once they get a feeling that you are driving safely and you have control over your own driving, they are comfortable to give you the license. Note that they do objective evaluation (meaning, for every thing...like right turn, left turn etc there is marks allocated) and less number of mistakes get you the license. I don't know the details, but there is marks allocated for each thing.

Hi,