close

Thread: Job Change once Your Employer files for GreenCard

Exclamation Job Change once Your Employer files for GreenCard

Hello,

I have a question regarding Green card process. I am graduating in December 2010. I fall in EB2 category as I am going to complete my Masters degree in US and I have several years of experience as well. My employer is ready to file my green card but as I am on student visa I need to get My H1B done and then start my process for Green card.

I would like to know that while my employer files for Green Card Can I change my Job and Does same green card application can be carried forward by new employer or we have to start a new green card application?

Can you please tell me how much time does it take for green card on EB2 category??

Thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by mita_rana View Post
    Hello,

I have a question regarding Green card process. I am graduating in December 2010. I fall in EB2 category as I am going to complete my Masters degree in US and I have several years of experience as well. My employer is ready to file my green card but as I am on student visa I need to get My H1B done and then start my process for Green card.

EB category is determined based on the Job and its requirement. Whether you have master's or many years of experience doesn't matter if the job requirement is not falling under that category. Being said that, usually job that reqires Master's or bachelor + 5 yrs of progressive experience may qulify for EB-2.

I would like to know that while my employer files for Green Card Can I change my Job and Does same green card application can be carried forward by new employer or we have to start a new green card application?

At this stage you can assume that GC process is not transferable between employers. But after 6 months of filing your AOS, you don't need to depend on the sponsoring employer as long as you find the another employer with same job requirement.