Additional 37 Countries Now Eligible for the Indian e-Tourist Visa Scheme

India has announced its decision to extend its e-tourist visa scheme to an additional 37 countries. Effective this Friday, February 26, 2016, the additional 37 countries now eligible for an Indian e-tourist visa bring the total number of eligible countries to 150.

The newly added countries include Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote D-Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The last extension of e-tourist visas to India took place last June in 2015, which included an extension to 31 countries as well as the announcement of 7 new airports at which travelers can obtain an e-tourist visa on arrival.

Citizens of eligible e-tourist visa countries can apply for an eTV online and will receive their e-tourist visa via email. Travel on an e-tourist visa to India may not exceed two trips per year, each visit not exceeding 30 days. Applicants may apply for an eTV a minimum of 4 days prior to their date of arrival in India.

For more information about the e-tourist visa scheme and how to apply for an e-tourist visa, visit our e-Tourist Visa (Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival) page.