Travel Ban Banned, Again

The new, third travel ban instituted by the Trump administration has been banned, yet again. And again, by the same Hawaiian Judge Derrick Watson. Ruled as unconstitutional and discriminatory based on religion, he partially blocked it until further rulings are made on it. Other courts are expected to follow suit.

This time around, the travel ban meant to go into effect on October 18, 2017 included eight countries including six majority-Muslim countries. The judge ordered the temporary block for all the Muslim countries and let it pass through for North Korea and Venezuela. These two were added specifically for the third version of the travel ban.

Although the White House claims that this ban is intended as a security measure until the said countries are willing to share critical information necessary to safely vet applications, the judge found insufficient evidence to prohibit 150 million travelers from six majority Muslin countries from entering the US.

Timeline of All Travel Bans So Far –

  • First ban targets Syria, Iraq, Iran, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Sudan.
  • Ban included green card and valid visa holders which was protested against.
  • Federal district court and 9th circuit court of appeals block it.
  • March, President Trump signs in another executive order from which Iraq has been dropped. Green card and valid visa holders are exempted from the ban.
  • Refugees from Syria are not banned. However, a 120 day US refugee program is instituted which cuts refugee admissions by more than half.
  • Judge Watson from Hawaii, courts in Maryland and appellate courts block the second travel ban.
  • In June, the Supreme Court allows for a partial enforcement of the ban allowing certain family members such as parents, spouses, children, adult sons or daughters, sons- and daughters-in-laws, siblings and fiancés/fiancées of nationals from these banned countries to come into the US.
  • In September, grandparents and other extended family members of valid visa holders were allowed.
  • A third, amended travel ban is issued that included Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Chad, North Korea and Venezuela. Sudan was dropped.
  • Judge Watson from Hawaii has partially blocked this one as well.
  • Restrictions against North Korea and Venezuela remains in place.