US Holidays

HomeNew to USAUS Holidays

There are 10 federal holidays in America, but universally they only observe New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Some states observe a few more holidays and not include a few from the list below. Some states celebrate them, but on different dates.

1st JanuaryNew Year’s Day
January (Third Monday)Martin Luther King’s Birthday
February (Third Monday)President’s Day
May (Last Monday)Memorial Day
4th JulyIndependence Day
September (First Monday)Labor Day
October (Second Monday)Columbus Day
11th NovemberVeteran’s Day
November (Fourth Thursday)Thanksgiving Day
25th DecemberChristmas Day

For holiday list for US consulates in India visit:

Before going to the consulate, make sure that it is not any of these days. Secondly, if you are planning to travel on any of the holiday’s, then it is always advisable to get the booking one month in advance, as it will be overbooked on holidays. Specially in December i.e. at the time of new year and christmas, it is very difficult to get the confirmed booking at the last minute.


CompareRemit - Exploit the all-time-high USD-INR Rates! Send Money Now!

Related Articles

Related Articles